Skip to content Skip to navigation

Stanford scholars honored for education research

Photo of Antero Garcia
Assistant Professor Antero Garcia is among the Stanford education scholars receiving research awards at AERA's 2018 annual meeting.
| |

Stanford scholars honored for education research

Education researchers recognized for contributions and excellence in scholarship

The American Educational Research Association (AERA) is honoring several Stanford scholars for outstanding research and contributions to education. Awards are being presented at AERA’s annual meeting, which this year is in New York City.

Assistant Professor Antero Garcia is receiving the Jan Hawkins Award for Early Career Contributions to Humanistic Research and Scholarship in Learning Technologies. Assistant Professor Ramón Martínez is being awarded the Bilingual Research SIG’s Early Career Award. And Scott Latham, a post-doctoral scholar at the Center for Education Policy Analysis (CEPA) at Stanford Graduate School of Education, was chosen as an Outstanding Reviewer for 2017 for AERA Open.

AERA, the largest national professional organization devoted to the scientific study of education, also has named as AERA Fellows Associate Professor Maria Araceli Ruiz-Primo and Professor Sean Reardon for their notable and sustained research achievements.

Emeritus Professor Michael Kirst, who received the Distinguished Public Service Award last year, will present a speech entitled “Public Policy Impact of Education Resesarch: A 54 Year Career Perspective,” in honor of his recognition.

During the five-day meeting, which ends April 17, Stanford researchers are presenting their scholarship and leading discussions in a variety of topics including bilingual education, neuroscience, learning sciences, math and science education, inequality, assessments and accountability, gender and religion.

Get the Educator

Subscribe to our monthly newsletter.

Back to the Top